1st Annual WSMBA Awards Banquet

2019 Inaugural Baseball Awards Banquet

Winnipeg South Minor Baseball Association was proud to host our Inaugural Baseball Awards Banquet this past fall. Thanks to everyone who attended the event!  Thanks to its success, we hope to continue this event each year to recognize the excellence and hard work of our baseball community at all levels of play!

When: Tuesday September 10th, 2019  Doors open: 6pm; Dinner Served: 6:30pm; Speaker: 6:40pm; Awards: 7pm  

Where: La Salle Community Centre, La Salle, MB

Special Guest Speaker Kevin Chief 

Many thanks to our Guest Speaker Kevin Chief who gave our audience a fantastic message about teamwork, inclusion, and the benefits of sport!
Kevin is Senior Advisor for Indigenous Relations with the Office of Inclusion at the Bank of Montreal, Mentor in Residence with Seven Oaks School Division, and Partnership Development Lead with the Centre for Aboriginal Human Resource Development.  Born and raised in Winnipeg’s North End, he has considerable public sector and community experience. He was Vice President at the Business Council of Manitoba, spent six years as a member of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, representing Point Douglas, and previously worked in the field of education, training and employment of youth.

Kevin and his wife Melanie have three young sons: Hayden, Kellan, and Daxton.  He is also known as a high steppin’ square dancer as part of the Norman Chief Memorial Dancers.
We are proud to have donated $500 from this event to WASAC - Winnipeg Aboriginal Sport Achievement Centre

Awards Descriptions/Criteria link

2019 Award Winners

Congratulations to the following individuals and teams who were winners at our inaugural event!

Players of the Year:


11UA - Xavier Beaubien, Fort Garry Giants

11UAA - Matthew Peitsch, Charleswood Goldeyes


13UA - Myles Dixon, Fort Garry Giants

13UAA - Parker Rolston, Fort Garry Giants

13UAAA - Josh Randle, Winnipeg South Chiefs


15UA - Carter Kulchyski, South Winnipeg Trailblazers 1

15UAA - Nicholas Guberman, Charleswood Goldeyes (missing from picture)

15UAAA - Josh Filmon, Winnipeg South Chiefs


18UA - Nicolas Koop, Fort Garry Sox

18UAA - Adam Flatt and Sean Flatt, Fort Garry Giants

18UAAA - Jake Hruska, Winnipeg South Chiefs (missing from picture)


Female Player of the Year - Mikayla Nordman, Fort Garry Sox

Challenger Player of the Year - Liam Frain 

Youth Umpire of the Year - Andrew Cundill


Volunteers of the Year - Kim Turner and Lori Vassart


Grassroots Coach of the Year - Doug Lockhart 18UA Corydon Comets


Grassroots Team of the Year - 15UAA MacDonald Yankees


High Performance Coach of the Year - Morgan de Pena 18UAAA WS Chiefs


High Performance Team of the Year - 15U AAA Winnipeg South Chiefs


Anthony Block Memorial Spirit of the Game Award - Braeden Kulbacki, 15U AAA Winnipeg South Chiefs


Congratulations to all!

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

Get Started

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

Get Started

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

Get Started

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

Get Started